MaThCryst forthcoming activities

Summer School, June 2023, Nancy (France)

Eleventh basic and second advanced training course on symmetry and group theory, July 2023, Tsukuba (Japan)

Theoretical Crystallography and Materials Science

Satellite Conference of the AsCA'06 / CrSJ meeting

Tsukuba, Japan, 18-19 November 2006

The joint conference of the Asian Crystallographic Association and of the Crystallographic Society of Japan was held from 20 to 23 November, 2006, in Tsukuba.

The IUCr MaThCryst commission, in cooperation with the with the IUCr Commission on Inorganic and Mineral Structures, organized a Satellite conference on Theoretical Crystallography and Materials Science.


The satellite conference was held at Epochal Tsukuba International Congress Center on 18 and 19 November 2006 (Saturday and Sunday).

International Program Committee

Massimo Nespolo (France), chair
Giovanni Ferraris (Italy)
Masanori Matsui (Japan)
Mois I. Aroyo (Spain)

Organizing Committee

Yoshio Matsui (Japan)
Hiroshi Sawa (Japan)
Yuichi Michiue (Japan)
Massimo Nespolo (France)


The abstracts of the oral and poster presentations are now available for download in PDF format (1.6 Mb).

18 november

9:00-10:30 Mois I. Aroyo (University of Bilbao, Spain) Group-theoretical applications in the study of the mechanisms of reconstructive phase transitions
PDF file with the presentation slides (1.3 Mb)
PDF file with the text of the exercises (962 Kb)
PDF file with the solution of the exercises (1.5 Mb)
10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-12:30 Andrew G. Christy (Australian National University) A continuum model for geometrical and topological properties of polyhedral tilings, with applications to crystal structure systematics
12:30-14:30 Lunch
14:30-16:00 Santiago Garcia-Granda (University of Oviedo, Spain) Information and graph theory to analyze molecular properties in crystallographic Fourier maps. Applications in Materials Science
PDF file with the presentation slides (4.8 Mb)
16:00-16:30 Coffee break
16:30-17:15 Masanori Matsui (University of Hyogo, Japan) Computer simulation of temperature-pressure-volume equations of state of melts in the system CaO-MgO-Al2O3-SiO2
17:15-18:00 Giovanni Ferraris (University of Torino, Italy) Symmetry constraints on the physical properties of an anisotropic material
PDF file with the presentation slides (684 Kb)

19 november

9:00-10:30 Yoshio Matsui (National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan) Advanced TEM and STEM: Atom-Imaging Principles and Applications to Materials Science
10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-12:30 Dhananjaj Pandey (Banaras Hindu University, India) Phase transitions in mixed perovskites
12:30-14:30 Lunch
14:30-15:15 Eckhard Hitzer (University of Fukui, Japan) Interactive 3D space group visualizer
PDF file with the presentation slides (2.3 Mb)

15:15-16:00 A. David Rae (Australian National University) The need for coexisting symmetrised components to rationalise the description and refinement of problem structures
16:00-16:30 Coffee break
16:30-16:50 Mitsuko Onoda (NIMS, Tsukuba, Japan) Short-Range-Order Stacking in Cu2Gd2/3S2, Ti1.43S2 and Deuterated Sodium Cobaltate
16:50-17:10 Chattree Phurat (Chulalongkorn University, Thailand) Hydrogen desorption and absorption process of NaAlH4 and modified NaAlH4

Poster sessions were held during coffee breaks, lunch time and after afternoon oral session.


The official language of the Conference was English. No simultaneous interpretation was provided.

List of participants (in alphabetical order)

Name Institution Country
Mois I Aroyo Universidad del Pais Vasco Spain
Andrew G. Christy Australian National University Australia
Giovanni Ferraris University of Torino Italy
Kenjiro Fujimoto Tokyo University of Science Japan
Santiago Garcia-Granda University of Oviedo Spain
Eckhard Hitzer University of Fukui Japan
Christopher J. Howard Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Australia
Yasushi Kanke National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Akihiko Kitada Waseda University Japan
Masanori Matsui University of Hyogo Japan
Yoshio Matsui National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Takeo Matsumoto Kanazawa University Japan
Yuichi Michiue National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Ronald Miletich University of Heidelberg Gemany
Koichi Momma Tohoku University Japan
Takuro Nagai National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Masahiro Nagao National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Massimo Nespolo Université Henri Poincaré Nancy I France
Yoshihito Ogasawara Waseda University Japan
Mitsuko Onoda National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Dhananjai Pandey Banaras Hindu University India
Chattree Phurat Chulalongkorn University Thailand
David Rae Australian National University Australia
Subrata Roy University of Dhaka Bangladesh
Mitsuhiro Saito National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Chariwat Samanchat Mahidol University Thailand
Hiroshi Sawa KEK Photon Factory, Tsukuba Japan
Akiji Yamamoto National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan
Kazuo Yamamoto Kanagawa Institute of Technology Japan
Tomoyuki Yamamoto Waseda University Japan
Tadahiro Yokozawa National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba Japan

group photo
Click to enlarge


For scientific inquiries, contact . For organizational inquiries contact

The Organizers of the Satellite Conference on Theoretical Crystallography and Materials Science observed the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as citizenship, religion, creed, political stance, ethnic origin, race, colour, language, age or sex, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science. At this conference no barriers existed which would have prevented the participation of bona fide scientists.