MaThCryst forthcoming activities

SIAM conference on mathematical aspects of Material Science, online event, May 2021, Bilbao (Spain)

Ninth training course on symmetry and group theory, August 2021, Tsukuba (Japan)

Seventh MaThCryst School in Latin America, November 2021, Lima (Peru)

International School on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography
First MaThCryst School in Latin America

The University of Havana, Cuba

15-20 July 2007

The IUCr-MaThCryst commission, in cooperation with the IUCr Commission on Crystallographic Teaching (CTC) and with the IUCr Commission on Inorganic and Mineral Structures (CIMS), has organised an International School on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography at the The school was held at the Universidad de la Habana Cuba.


International Program Committe

Prof. Massimo Nespolo, Chair (MaThCryst)
Prof. (CTC)
Prof. Giovanni Ferraris (CIMS)
Prof. (IMRE)

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. , Chair
Dr. , Vice-chair
MSc. Cristy Azanza Ricardo
Ms. , Secretary


The official language of the School was English. No simultaneous interpretation was provided.

Didactic material

The files of the part of the presentations are available for download in one of the following format:


Local address

The address of the school website at the Havana University is

List of participants

Besides the lecturer and the members of the local organizing committee, the school was attended by 38 participants from 11 countries.

Juan Antonio Jiménez Gallegos Mexico
Christian Danie Farfán Barrera Guatemala
Sofía Romero Vargas Mexico
Cristina Pérez Krap Mexico
Gerardo Muñoz Montoya Mexico
Zailex C. García González Venezuela
César Octavio Vázquez Carmona Mexico
Luis Miguel Villamagua Conza Ecuador
Jorge Luis Cholula Díaz Mexico
Milton Carlos González Sánchez Mexico
Melissa Mederos Vidal Cuba
Javier Martínez Pons Cuba
Zahily Herrero Fernández Cuba
Leorlen Rojas Mazaira Cuba
Leonel Raúl Morejón Hernández Cuba
Alis Rodríguez Manso Cuba
Yoandys Gómez de la Torre Cuba
Alejandro Álvarez Paneque Cuba
Marek Pascioli Poland ,
Tamara Djordjevic Austria
Mailyn Pérez Jiva Cuba
Llaneel García C. Cuba
Abel Gutarra Peru
Taryn Nefdt South Africa
Solemar Oliveira Brazil
Ana Elisa Bergues Pupo Cuba
Idelisa Bergues Cabrales Cuba
Yurimiler Leyet Ruiz Cuba
Juan Carlos Somarriba Cuba
Omar López Armas Cuba
Rafael Mendoza Meroño Cuba
Juan Ceballos Mexico
Claudia Damiani Mexico
Adaris López Cuba
Johan R. González Cuba
Roberto Domínguez Cuba
Jennifer Martínez Cuba
S.I. Ben Abraham Israel

The Organizers of the Havana 2007 International School on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography has observed the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as citizenship, religion, creed, political stance, ethnic origin, race, colour, language, age or sex, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science. At this school no barriers existed which would have prevented the participation of bona fide scientists.

Group photo
Click to enlarge