MaThCryst forthcoming activities

Fifth training course on symmetry and group theory, March 2017, Tsukuba (Japan)

Second Workshop on Mathematical Crystallography, May 2017, Manila (Philippines)

Shanghai International Crystallographic School, June 2017, Shanghai (China)

IUCr 2017 Satellite, September 2017, Rourkela, (India)

International School on Fundamental and Electron Crystallography, October 2017, Sofia, (Bulgaria)

MaThCryst recent activities

Fifth MaThCryst School in Latin America, October 2016, Havana (Cuba)

AIC School 2016, 7-11 September 2016, Rimini, (Italy)

First advanced training course on symmetry and group theory, August 2016, Tsukuba (Japan)

International Scientific School 'Combined topological and DFT methods for prediction of new materials II', July 2016, Samara (Russia)

International School on Fundamental Crystallography with applications to Electron Crystallography, June - July 2016, Antwerp (Belgium)

SIAM conference on mathematical aspects of Material Science, May 2016, Philadelphia (USA)

Fourth training course on symmetry and group theory, March 2016, Tsukuba (Japan)


Crystallography online: International School on the use and application of the Bilbao Crystallographic Server

Lekeitio, Spain, 21-27 June 2009

Supported by the:
Spanish National Committee for Crystallography
IUCr Commission on Teaching Crystallography
ECA Special Interest Group No. 5 "Mineral and Inorganic Crystallography"

The IUCr MaThCryst commission has organized a school on the use and application of the Bilbao Crystallographic Server, a full-featured series of tools and routines for the analysis of crystallographic, crystal-chemical and solid-state physical problems.

Download poster (pdf)

List of main topics


List of Participants

Agostini, GiovanniUniversity of Torino (Italy)  
Almeida, AbilioUniversity of Porto (Portugal)  
Angel, Ross J.Virginia Tech (USA)
Aroyo, Mois IliaUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Arroyabe, ErikUniversity of Innsbruck (Austria)
Baburin, IgorSamara State University (Russia)
Basyuk, Tetyana V.Lviv Polytechnic National University (Ukraine)
Belakroum, KarimaUniversity Mentouri-Constantine (Algeria)
Blanco, NahikariUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Catti, MicheleUniversity of Milano-Bicocca (Italy)
Chapuis, GervaisFederal School of Technology (Switzerland)
de la Flor Martín, GemmaUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Delaney, Kris T.University of California Santa Barbara (USA)
Díez Betriu, XavierUniversity of Barcelona (Spain)
Elliott, Ryan S.University of Minnesota (USA)
Evarestov, RobertSaint-Petersburg State University (Russia)
Ferreira, Welberth S.University of Porto (Portugal)
Friese, KarenUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Gadaczek, ImmanuelUniversity of Bonn (Germany)
García-Muñoz, José LuisInstitut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona-CSIC (Spain)
Guzmán Afonso, Mª CandelariaUniversity of La Laguna (Spain)
Hatt, AlisonUniversity of California Santa Barbara (USA)
Houben, AndreasRWTH Aachen University (Germany)
Igartua, Josu MirenaUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Iturbe, EdurneUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Jusuf, VincentUniversity of Minnesota (USA)
Kahlenberg, VolkerUniversity of Innsbruck (Austria)
Kitaev, YuriA.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute (Russia)
Kovacik, RomanTrinity College, University of Dublin (Ireland)
Kulriya, Pawan K.Inter-University Accelerator Centre (India)
Loquias, Manuel Joseph C.University of Bielefeld (Germany)
Madariaga, GotzonUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Mihailova, BorianaUniversity of Hamburg (Germany)
Moechel, AnneForschungszentrum Juelich GmbH (Germany)
Moreira, Joaquim AgostinhoUniversity of Porto (Portugal)
Nespolo, MassimoNancy-Université (France)
Orobengoa, DanelUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Pato, BreogánUniversity of A Coruña (Spain)
Peintinger, MichaelUniversity of Bonn (Germany)
Pérez-Mato, Juan ManuelUniversity of the Basque Country (Spain)
Pignatelli, IsabellaNancy-Université (France)
Piovano, AndreaUniversity of Torino (Italy)
Prado Sabalisck, NanciUniversity of La Laguna (Spain)
Rodríguez-Carvajal, JuanInstitut Laue-Langevin (France)
Romaguera, YonnyUniversity of Porto  (Portugal)
Rondinelli, James M.University of California Santa Barbara  (USA)
Stokes, HaroldBrigham Young University (USA)
Stroppa, AlessandroConsiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche-CNR (Italy)
Tasci, Emre S.Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands)
Tataryn, TarasLviv Polytechnic National University (Ukraine)
Titorenkova, RositsaBulgarian Academy of Sciences  (Bulgaria)
Urcelay, IreneUniversity of the Basqe Country (Spain)
Varley, Joel B.University of California Santa Barbara (USA)
Vendrell, XavierUniversity of Barcelona (Spain)
Wondratschek, HansUniversity of Karlsruhe (Germany)

group photo
Click to enlarge

Didactic material and further information

Presentations, didactic material and all other information about the school is available from the Bilbao server.

The Organizers of the International School on the use and application of the Bilbao Crystallographic Server have observed the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as citizenship, religion, creed, political stance, ethnic origin, race, colour, language, age or sex, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science. At this conference no barriers existed which would have prevented the participation of bona fide scientists.